How it Began

I think it started when I was a child.  I was biten by the travel bug at four years old when my grandparents took me to Florida.  It was in the middle of a Michigan winter and going to the warm Florida sunshine was like pure heaven.  The blue sky, the sandy beaches, the warm weather were all enchanting.  And to this day when I visit family in Florida those wonderful feelings reemerge.

Several trips to Florida occurred over the years, some with my grandparents as a child and in my early 20s with friends.  Shortly after high school graduation, the fantasy of a road trip touring the United States would pop into my head.  Some of my friends took my fantasy trip which made the possibility more real in my mind. I was able to take a road trip out West and got as far as Moab, Utah before getting a serious case of food poisoning that landed my traveling companion and me in the emergency room .  That put an end to traveling further West…we headed back to Michigan.  The fantasy of traveling the United States has resided in the recesses of my mind for the last 40 years.  I’ve been many places in the world:  France, Germany, Italy, Turkey, England, Spain, Mexico, and the Netherlands, all beautiful in their own way.  However, my own country has places and sites that rival anything found in other countries and I want to see those up close and personal. 

Since taking up motorcycle riding five years ago, I’ve had the vision of touring the US on my motorcycle.  But the reality is that I’m almost 62 and touring on a motorcycle is best left to those a little younger.  Next idea…a motorhome with a trailer containing the motorcycle.  The idea is to drive to a central location, park it for 3-5 days and use the motorcycle to tour the area.  Best of both worlds, right? Yep!  That’s the plan.  So we started the search for a motorhome.

How the search went, why we bought what we did, what we’ve added and our plans.

Buying a motorhome is a big investment…and I use investment very loosely.  Just like a car, motorhomes depreciate 15% the first year, and 10-12% every year thereafter.  Buying new was not an option; it’s like buying a small home.  So used it was. But, how used?  In talking with various salesmen and with an eye towards resale, the year had to start with a two.  We wanted a quality brand, so we researched and came up with a short list and started shopping around.  We purchased a 2002 Tiffen Allegro. It’s a 33 foot with two slide-outs.  Large enough to be able to live in for weeks or months at a time. 

We immediately started adding things we thought we needed (sure hope we end up needing them!) like a solar panel to keep the batteries charged, an inverter and battery monitor. Then we loaded up with household items, packed our clothes, added food, hooked up the trainer with the motorcycle and off we went!

The Alley Cat and Me

The Alley Cat and Me

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “How it Began

  1. Sandy

    Hi Rochelle and Ralph,
    This blog is a great idea!
    I’ve enjoyed the first 2 installments.
    Mike and I are closing the apt. and flying
    north tomorrow. You RV sounds great and
    LARGE. Happy Trails S. xo

  2. Shirley Woods

    Good Job you two. I hope you enjoy your Allegro as much as I did. Just sold mine after 15 years of ownership, and did very well financially. They hold their value if you take care of them. I loved my years on the road. I am now living in Dallas, TX. Taking a road trip in my car this summer, going to Michigan and then Nevada to be with my grandson. I am happy, healthy and loving life at 73. Keep me up to date with e-mails as I am not on facebook. I miss all the bookies. Love, Shirley

    • Hi Shirley! Good to know you are doing good. Miss you! Judy

      • Shirley Woods

        Hi Judy
        How are things on the farm. I hope going well. Maybe when I am in Nevada this summer I can come down to Sacto and get together with some of the bookies. I miss you all, please tell anyone you see Hi from me. I love my church here in Dallas, and all is going good for me.
        Take care,
        Love & Blessings,
        Shirley

  3. CJay

    U2 were “Born to be Mild!”- Nice start to a freat adventure for you, Captain Detroit & Simple Simon….. 🙂

  4. Hi Rochelle, Ralph and Simon,
    Bon Voyage Allegro style! Hope you have an awesome adventure! Love the blog…what a great idea. I do my traveling vicariously through you these days. Looking forward to your next blog.
    Judy

    • Thanks Judy! I finally have a little time to write now.
      The adventure continues. Miss my bookies…

  5. CJay

    So Capt’n Detroit, Simple Simon & wait for it…..wait for it….. 🙂

  6. Mariya Furtah

    Loving the blog and really enjoying all the updates;) keep them coming!

    • I will. I’m just exhausted when we return from riding, but I’m getting to it. Looks like Mason had a great birthday party at home.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

